Style and manuscript guidelines

General information

  • All the manuscripts submitted for publication are peer-reviewed.
  • Manuscripts must be delivered in English.
  • Manuscripts must be no longer than 40000 characters notes and reference list inclusive.
  • Manuscripts shall include an abstract of 100-150 words as well as the list of six keywords.
  • The recommended length for interviews and comments is up to 2000-4000 words, for book reviews up to 1500 words.
  • Biographical data (up to 70 words) and complete address (incl. e-mail address) shall be enclosed.
  • Each author receives one printed copy of the issue of Central European Journal of Communication where the article is published.
  • One year after publication, the contribution is made freely accessible on Central European Journal of Communication website.
  • Central European Journal of Communication accepts only online submissions.
  • All correspondence shall be addressed to
  • The processes of manuscript submission, review and production shall be in line with Publication Ethics and Malpractice Statement adopted by Central European Journal of Communication.
Style and manuscript guidelines

  • Title of article (Times New Roman, 12 points bold, centered).
  • Authors’ names, affiliation(s), addresses, e-mail, website (Times New Roman, 11 points, centered).
  • Abstract (max. 150 words), keywords (up to 6 keywords).
  • Introduction
  • Extended abstracts should have 2 pages and a structured form, with Headings (Times New Roman, 10 points bold) numbered as 1., 2., etc.
  • Use A4 paper format with margins set to 2,5 cm.
  • Write the text in single interline, with Times New Roman 12 points, left and right justified.
  • Equations (centered) are allowed: the same applies to figures and tables. Use 9-point font size for figure/table caption. Figures should be delivered as CDR, AI, EPS fi les, photos as 300 dpi TIFF?s. Authors are requested to submit their extended abstracts electronically as PDF or WORD files.
  • The whole paper should be maximum 45 000 characters. Subheadings shall be limited to two levels. Titles in foreign languages shall be translated and English title shall be placed in parenthesis.


Only references and books quoted in the text might be placed in the reference list. References shall be listed alphabetically.

References in text: 

  • Mancini and Hallin (2004) compared media systems
  • In a recent study of media systems (Price, 1994)
  • Media systems today are changing. (Donsbach, 1994, p. 106).
  • With multiple sources: In a recent study of media systems (Alpha, 1994, 1996; Beta, 2001; Carter & Dodd, 1987)

Reference list: 

  • Books: McQuail, D. (1997). Audience analysis. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.
  • Edited books: Swanson, D. L., & Nimmo, D. (Eds.). (1990). New directions in political communication. A resource book. Newbury Park, CA: Sage.
  • Chapter in edited book: Gurevitch, M., & Blumler, J. G. (1990). Comparative research: The extending frontier. In D. L. Swanson & D. Nimmo (Eds.), New directions in political communication. A resource book (pp. 305-325). Newbury Park, CA: Sage.
  • Article in journal: Brants, K., & Neijens, P. (1998). The infotainment of politics. Political Communication, 5, 149-164.
  • Conference Paper: Johnson, A., & Calhoun, D. R. (2004, May). Survey of media systems in Europe. Paper presented at the International Communication Association Convention, New Orleans.
  • Web citation: provide usual information, but at the end of the citation provide the date and location from which the source as retrieved as follows: Jones, (date and title as usual). Retrieved September 10, 2004, from

List of referees

Volume 1, No 1, Fall 2008: Jacek Sobczak, Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań, Poland

Volume 2, No 1 (2), Spring 2009: Tomasz Goban-Klas, Jagiellonian University in Cracow, Poland

Volume 2, No 2 (3), Fall 2009: Teresa Sasińska-Klas, Jagiellonian University in Cracow, Poland

Volume 3, No 1 (4), Spring 2010: Maciej Mrozowski, University of Warsaw, Poland; Epp Lauk, University of Jyväskylä, Finland

Volume 3, No 2 (5), Fall 2010: Jerzy Olędzki, University of Warsaw, Poland; David Weaver, Indiana University, Bloomington, USA

Volume 4, No 1 (6), Spring 2011: Beata Ociepka, University of Wrocław, Poland; Jane L. Curry, Santa Clara University, USA

Volume 4, No 2 (7), Fall 2011: Mariusz Kolczyński, Silesian University, Poland; Dominic Wring, Loughborough University, United Kingdom

Volume 5, No 1 (8), Spring 2012: Małgorzata Lisowska-Magdziarz, Jagiellonian University in Cracow, Poland; Inta Brikse, University of Latvia in Riga, Latvia

Volume 5, No 2 (9), Fall 2012: Sigurd Allern, Peter Bajomi-Lazar, Marcel Broersma, Alison Harcourt, Iwona Hofman, Rune Ottosen, Turo Uskali

Volume 6, No 1 (10), Spring 2013: Janina Fras, Epp Lauk, Michał Kuś, Małgorzata Lisowska-Magdziarz, Philippe Maarek, Irmina Matonyte, Norbert Merkovity, Beata Ociepka, Jerzy Olędzki, Svetlana Pasti, Dorota Piontek, Lilia Raycheva, Magdalena Szpunar, Natalia Vasilendiuc, Rocio Zamora

Volume 6, No 2 (11), Fall 2013: Ilona Biernacka-Ligięza, Alicja Jaskiernia, Michał Kuś, Epp Lauk, Irmina Matonyte, Bożena Mierzejewska, Lars Nord, Dorota Piontek, Barbara Pfetsch, Miroljub Radojkovic, Katrin Voltmer, Dominic Wring

Volume 7, No 1 (12), Spring 2014: Aukse Balcytiene, Inta Brikse, Janina Fras, Peter Gross, Iwona Hofman, Epp Lauk, Jerzy Olędzki, Natalia Milewski, Gunnar Nygren, Wanda Patrzałek, Zrinjka Perusko, Svetlana Pasti, Jaromir Volek

Volume 7, No 2 (13), Fall 2014: Ainars Dimants, Janina Fras, Tomasz Goba-Klas, Iwona Hofman, Alicja Jasiernia, Michał Kuś, Bartłomiej Lódzki, Agnieszka Stępińska, Jaromir Volek, Rocio Zamora Medina

Volume 8, No 1 (14), Spring 2015: Referees: Petra Aczél, Małgorzata Adamik-Szysiak, Maria Anikina, Domagoj Bebić, Svetlana Bodrunova, Ludmila Bolotova, Tomasz Gackowski, Anna Gladkova, Ilona Grzywińska, Halliki Harro-Loit, Dorka Horváth, Agnieszka Hess, Andres Joesaar, Elena Johansson, Kristina Juraite, Anna Kalinowska-Żeleźnik, Jenena Kleut, Katarzyna Konarska, Vasyl Kucherenko, Michał Kuś, Anna Litvinenko, Sylwia Męcfal, Natalia Milewski, Antonio Momoc, Madalina Moraru, Dana Mustata, Ewa Nowak, Svetlana Pasti, Judith Pies, Lilia Raycheva, Anda Rožukalne, Natalya Ryabinska, Andra Seleceanu, Andrej Školkay, Dusan Spasojevic, Václav Štětka, Robert Szwed, Adam Szynol, Daria Taradai, Ülle Toode, Lenka Waschkova Cisarova, Agnieszka Węglińska, Lenka Vochocova, Bissera Zankova

Visit Us On Facebook